With Wrigley’s given history, it has always been one of the stadiums at the top of my baseball bucket list. A friend and I drove in from St. Louis in the early morning of September 6th to make the journey to Wrigley. It was a hot, sunny and humid 90 degree day in Chicago; a perfect day for my first trip to the second oldest stadium in baseball. I loved EVERY bit of Chicago and I definitely recommend making the trip, baseball head or not. Wrigley is truly something worth seeing in person.
I was especially lucky with the timing of my visit to Wrigley. Early September, the Cubs are hunting October and the Cubbie fandom is in full swing. Buying tickets for this game proved to have very, very slim options for quality, affordable seats. We ended up sitting in section 404, row 5 (along the third base side) for about $50 a seat, but the seats were great. They offered a complete view of the city and allowed a comprehensive view of the field itself. Another added plus was the extensive shade that section provided (which was especially crucial during the humid day).
The game itself was extremely enjoyable. The Cubs were hosting the Arizona Diamondbacks, (a sub .500 team this season) and not being a huge follower of the National League it was hard to be invested in the lineup they put on the field that day. On the other side of the diamond, the Cubs have made a splash this year with their rookie tandem. In this instance, I was a little more aware of the players on the field for the boys in pinstripes. This game featured league wide, season long 495ft (!!!!!!!) HR by none other than the 23-year-old rookie Kris Bryant, a LARGE part of the Cubs’ push to relevancy this season. Bryant’s HR was followed up later with a grand slam by catcher Miguel Montero.
Being a Mariners fan, or really a baseball fan in general, I always like to see former players finding success with other clubs. As former contributing members of the team dear to my heart, I can’t help but get excited for a former player and their new team(s). No matter how much I wanna curse Jack Zurendzick the ghosts of front office’s past, it’s nice to see these players get a shot at the big show. Go ahead boys, we see you.
During this game I got to see recently traded players Austin Jackson (sad face) and Fernando Rodney (wooohoooo!). A-jax started in RF and made a quiet impact, but he is a professional and dammit I miss you A-Jax please come back! Fernando on the other hand… Did Fernando Rodney Experience things. I’m not sure if Cubs fans are completely aware of the FRE, but it starts off a little something like the top of the 7th inning started when Rodney was called upon to take the mound. He comes in with a 6-1 lead and my god Fernando please oh please don’t mess… Oh wait. This isn’t Safeco, he isn’t pitching for the Mariners… Phew, it’s gonna be ok. Two walks, two heart attack inducing strikeouts and a groundout to short to end the inning, two runners left on base. No runners score. Textbook 2014 FRE. In 2015, both walks score and the lead is erased with a 5 run inning… I’m not bitter, I swear. I guess Joe Madden is attempting to resurrect the 2012, arrow shooting, 48 saves, 0.60 ERA Rodney. We applaud you Joe, have at it champ.
The Cubs end up winning 6-4 and much to my delight, the ENTIRE stadium of fans starts singing a victory song in unison. Excuse me guys, you have a victory song? That was something I had never heard before, and I have been to alloooooooooot of baseball games in my life. That song was the icing on top of the cake. Games like these are the type that warm my tiny little baseball heart and make me proud to be a fan of the game. From the minute I stepped onto the corner of Addison & Clark I could feel the community that this stadium provided. Believe me when I say that, that is not something that every stadium offers. From the vine-covered outfield to the manual scoreboard in center to every bar/restaurant in the area proudly displaying Cubs memorabilia, it was all love. Thank you Wrigley, Cubbies and Co., y’all were an absolute treat to watch a ballgame with.

IMG_1810

TEAM/STADIUM:
1. The stadium itself was built-in 1914, but originally opened as Weeghman Park. It was Weeghman Park from 1914-1920, then later became Cubs Park from 1920-1926. They celebrated the 100 year birthday of the field throughout the 2014 season last year.
2. Wrigley Field holds a little over 41,000 seats.
3. Wrigley has hosted three all-star games in its lifetime (1947, 1962 & 1990).
4. The Cubs have only won two World Series pennants, both coming over a 100 years ago in 1907 and 1908. Their World Series drought has popularly been referred to as the “Curse of the Billy Goat” or the “Cubs Curse”.
5. Mascot: “Clark” the cub. The team’s first official mascot that debuted in 2014 to offer a more kid-friendly element to events at Wrigley.
6. Colors: Blue, White and Red

